Europe > Britain and Ireland > Ireland > East Coast and Midlands > County Dublin > Dún Laoghaire
The Dublin and Kingstown Railway, constructed in 1834, was the first ever railway in Ireland.
The town is served by a frequent bus service and the railway station is the terminus of the 46a, the most frequent and heavily used bus route in Dublin.
A number of years ago, Lower George's Street underwent pedestrianisation, placing a ban on all general traffic with the exception of bus routes toward central Dublin.
- 1 James Joyce Tower & Museum (Túr agus Músaem Shéamuis Seoige), 17 Sandycove Point (About 15 min walk south of Dun Laoghaire on the coast road), ☎ . 10:00am-6:00pm. The tower, with its gun platform and living quarters, remains much as Joyce described it. The Museum's collection includes letters, photographs, first and rare editions and personal possessions of Joyce as well as items associated with the Dublin of Ulysses. First editions of most of Joyce's works are displayed in the museum, including the original Ulysses published by Shakespeare and Company in 1922. The museum also contains one of two plaster death masks of Joyce by sculptor Paul Speck. Free, but donations recommended.
- 2 National Maritime Museum of Ireland (Músaem Mhuirí Náisiúnta na hÉireann), Haigh Terrace, ☎ . Tu-Su plus public holiday Mondays 11:00-17:00. Situated in the former Mariner's Church. Exhibits include the Optic from the Bailey Lighthouse. Adult: €6, Child (under 12): €3, Family: €12.
- 3 Dun Laoghaire People's Park, Upper George's St. Beautifully laid out with different flower beds, this Victorian Park has a Children's Play Area and Tea Rooms. It is enclosed by wrought iron railings and gates and two very fine cast iron fountains manufactured by the Sun Foundry, Glasgow. A farmer's market is held here every Sunday.
- 4 Moran Park, Haigh Terrace. Overlooking the Harbour, Moran Park used to contain a Bowling Green. The central focus is the sculpture of "Christ the King" by internationally renowned sculptor Andrew O'Connor. Moran Park House was the location for the first wireless transmission by Gugielmo Marconi on 20 July 1898. He transmitted reports of the Kingstown(Dun Laoghaire) Regatta to this building for newspaper publication. The town's library is on the same site.
- 5 Dún Laoghaire Stone, Dunleary Rd (off the road between West Pier Trader's Wharf). There is a stone with a plaque paying homage to High King Laoghaire. It can't be seen from the road due to it being roughly the same height as the stone wall. Free.
- 1 Sandycove Beach. A small beach area with lifeguards opposite Irish architect Michael Scott's Geragh Haus. Forbids sailboarding and speedboats within 100 yards (91.4 metres).
- 2 Pavilion Theatre, Marine Rd, ☎ . Mon-Sat: noon-17:00; Sun: Closed.
- 1 O'Briens Wine Beer Spirits (O'Briens Off-Licence), Unit 3, Pavilion II, Marine Road (Located on the main road that connects the town centre to the seafront), ☎ . M-Sa 10:30-22:00, Su 12:30-22:00. Choose from 800 wines & a wide range of quality beers and spirits. Wine from €5.
- 2 RNLI Shop, 2 Queen's Rd, ☎ . Mon-Fri: 10:00-17:00; Sat-Sun: 14:00-17:00. Official gift shop for the Royal National Lifeboat Institute.
- 3 People's Park Market. Sun: 11:00-16:00. A market that runs every Sunday that sells a variety of locally sourced food and bric-a-brac at inexpensive prices. €2-10.
- 1 Harry's Cafe Bar, 21 Upper George's St, ☎ . Mon-Sat: 9:00am-5:00pm, Sun: 9:30am-5:00pm. Great Lunches. Raspberry muffins are recommended without hesitation. Blueberry muffins are out of this world.
- 2 Teddy's Ice Cream, 1a Windsor Terrace, ☎ . A popular local ice-cream parlour with multiple locations.
Dún Laoghaire boasts 11 bars and 4 nightclubs, mostly centred along the main street, Upper George's Street. They include “traditional Irish bars” like O'Neills, Dunphys and McLouglins.
- 1 The Forty Foot (Wetherspoons), The Pavilion Centre, Marine Rd, ☎ . Mon-Thu: 08:00-23:30; Fri: 8:00-00:30; Sat-Sun: 8:00-23:00. A modern well-lit bar that is part of Wetherspoons (a popular pub chain in the UK).
- 1 Marina House Hostel, 7 Dunleary Rd, ☎ . Right on DART and bus lines to central Dublin. Self catering kitchen. Dining room. Light breakfast included in room price. En-suite rooms available. Female-only Dormitories. Laundry facilities. Individual lockers available. TV room with open Fire. Barbeque area (weather permitting). Internet access. WIFI access. From €19 / night €105 / week.
- 2 Rochestown Lodge Hotel (Rochestown Hotel, Dun Laoghaire), Killiney, ☎ . Offers luxury accommodation with spa and leisure centre.
- Dalkey – Heritage town south of Dublin on the DART line with 10th Century church, two 14th Century Norman castles and a picturesque town centre.
- "Cabinteely House" This magnificent 18th Century House was built by Robert Nugent, Earl Clare and is now owned by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council. From 1933-1969 it was in the ownership of Joe McGrath who was well known in connection with the Irish Hospital Sweepstake and Waterford Glass. The house is situated in 96 acres of Parkland.
- "Marlay Park & House", Grange Road, Rathfarnham. This 18th century elegant house has been expertly restored by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council. Built in 1794 by David La Touche, of the La Touche Banking Family, it incorporates an earlier 17th century house. Of particular interest in the house are the stunning ballroom, the unusual oval music room and the elegant decorative plasterwork, some of which is attributed to James Wyatt. The house and its walled garden stand in a 214 acre park incorporating the Craft Courtyard, Coffee Shop, Tennis Courts, Golf, Football Pitches, lake and boathouse.
- "Killiney Hill Park", Killiney Hill Road, Killiney. This 200 acre Victorian Park high above sea level has breathtaking views from the summit across Killiney and Dublin Bay and the Wicklow Mountains. Walk through the woods and pathways with the coast always in view, ideal for picnics. Car park.