User:(WT-en) Jamesbrownontheroad

From Wikivoyage
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This is the imported user page of user James Brown, Jamesbrownontheroad on All contributions that this user had made on Wikitravel up until August 2012 were imported. The imported revisions of this contributor are labelled as "(WT-en) Jamesbrownontheroad".
Read more about the Migration from Wikitravel.
James Brown, photographed in Montréal in 2006. A sucker for good food, fine wine, and friendly company.

About Me

The travel bug bit me and I turned down the drugs. I have realised that I must be a born traveller, because when I'm not on the road, I'm daydreaming and planning the next trip. I avoid the usual destinations and take the greatest of pleasure ducking below the radar and losing myself in the real world places that are overlooked by the guidebooks and the backpacking crowds.

Since graduating from university in 2004, I've had the pleasure of living for two years in Belfast, Northern Ireland and Montréal, in Québec, Canada, as well as Sheffield, England and Strasbourg, France. I now live in Glasgow in Scotland and am working towards a PhD in architectural pedagogy at Queen's University in Belfast, Northern Ireland. I blog the days away at

I've contributed to the Lonely Planet Thorn Tree for several years now, and have been an active member of the Hospitality Club since 2004. You can find my first tentative contributions to Wikivoyage in the Across Canada by train, Belfast, Montréal, Norfolk, Sheffield, Strasbourg and Rail travel in the United States pages. Most recently I've been working on some Scottish pages, including the four Small Isles and Skye as well as the Rail travel in the UK and Rail travel in Ireland travel topics.


The facts

Babel user information
en-N This user has a native understanding of English.
fr-2 Cet utilisateur dispose de connaissances intermédiaires en français.
Users by language
Hometown Cambridge
Residence Glasgow
Other homes Swaffham
Have visited Canada (Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Banff, Winnipeg, Churchill, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Québec City, Halifax, South Shore of Nova Scotia), Croatia (Rijeka, Dubrovnik, Korçula), Cuba (Havana), Czech Republic (Prague), Denmark (Copenhagen), France (Paris, Amiens, Bretagne), Germany (Berlin), Republic of Ireland (Dublin, Donegal, Galway, Limerick), Italy (Naples, Sorrento, Venice), Netherlands (Amsterdam, Harlem, Zandvoort), Portugal (Lisbon), Russia (Moscow and St. Petersburg), Scotland (Western Isles, Edinburgh, Glasgow) Slovenia (Ljubljana, Ptuj, Murska Sobota), Spain (Barcelona), Switzerland (Geneva, Mürren), USA - (Chicago, New York City, Brooklyn, Denver, San Francisco, Santa Barbara, Seattle, Washington DC New Orleans, Lafayette), Wales (Cardigan Bay).
Wishlist North Africa and the Trans-Siberian Railway.


I am an active host and guests through the Hospitality Club. You'll find me there with the same username as here. Even if I can't help you with accomodation, please don't hesitate to contact me if you're travelling to wherever I am. Otherwise you can email me... put my wikivoyage username in front of

This is the imported user page of a user from pre-Wikimedia Wikivoyage or Wikitravel, who did not opt-in to the transfer of their data. All contributions that this user had made on pre-Wikimedia Wikivoyage or Wikitravel before August 2012 were imported. The imported revisions of this contributor are prefixed with "(WV-en)", or "(WT-en)" respectively.